Home / History

Interdisciplinary Working Group

In 2005, a group of 45 independent haemophilia physicians from 19 countries across Europe met to identify and address constraints inhibiting developments in haemophilia care across Europe. This Interdisciplinary Working Group (IDWG) was led by its co-chairmen Professors Christopher Ludlam and Pier Mannucci and a Steering Committee of Prof Jan Astermark, Dr Brian Colvin, Dr Mike Makris, Prof Jørgen Ingerslev and Prof Claude Negrier.


The IDWG identified three areas of focus:


  • – agree on a framework for underpinning principles of haemophilia services
  • – encourage more young physicians to enter the specialty, and
  • – develop a surveillance system for adverse events in those with haemophilia particularly in respect of therapy.

The physicians of the IDWG formed three working groups and these each met on seven occasions over the following two years to address the issues of development of haemophilia services, recruitment of young physicians and the safety of therapy. These working groups prepared and published the European Principles of Haemophilia Care, the European Curriculum for Thrombosis and Haemostasis and established the European Haemophilia Surveillance Project (EUHASS).


For more information on the recommendations of the IDWG, please consult: Ludlam, C.A., Mannucci, P.M., Powderly, G. et al. Addressing current challenges in haemophilia care: consensus recommendations of a European Interdisciplinary Working Group. Haemophilia. 2005,11:433-7.


Creation of EAHAD

With the completion of the IDWG activities, the physicians wished to continue to meet to collaborate and promote haemophilia activities across the whole of Europe. They developed a constitution for a European Association for all healthcare professionals providing haemophilia services including physicians, nurses, physiotherapists, social workers and research scientists.


At an independently funded, open meeting in Vienna on 7th June 2007, 120 individuals were enthusiastic to form the Association, agreed the constitution and elected office bearers and an executive committee.


The constitution was transformed into a legal document (Memorandum and Articles of Association) to enable EAHAD to register both as a Limited Company (no.06373427) and also as a charity in England.


EAHAD has since grown to an organisation with an annual congress that attracts over 1500 people working in the bleeding disorders field.


Adapted from text by Christopher A Ludlam (EAHAD President, 2008-2010)


Past Presidents

2008-1010 – Professor Christopher A Ludlam, United Kingdom

2010-2012 – Professor Pier Mannuccio Mannucci, Italy

2012-2014 – Professor Jan Astermark, Sweden (Biography)

2014-2016 – Professor Philippe de Moerloose, Switzerland (Biography)

2016-2018 – Professor Cedric Hermans, Belgium (Biography)

2018-2020 – Professor Michael Makris, United Kingdom (Biography)

2020-2022 – Professor Flora Peyvandi, Italy (Biography)